5 star award 

Outstanding Educator Award

The APCCMPD honors an exemplary clinician educator through it's Outstanding Educator Award. PCCM, CCM, and Pulmonary Fellowship Programs may nominate an individual within the P/CCM field. One individual will be selected for the national award and will receive recognition at the 2019 APCCMPD Annual Spring Conference, March 13-15, 2019 in Albuquerque, NM, and be given the opportunity to present on a medical education topic of their choice. 


Members of the Association of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine Program Directors (APCCMPD) work diligently to foster excellence through training and mentoring of the next generation of pulmonary and critical care physicians. One way to honor peers who demonstrate excellence in the development of future physicians is through the annual Outstanding Educator Award. 

This award recognizes an individual who has devoted a major portion of his/her professional life to enhancing the practice and profession of pulmonary and or critical care medicine through education. The educator selected for this award has made significant, innovative, and/or cumulatively outstanding contributions to education in pulmonary and or critical care medicine. These contributions should include excellence in education beyond the local level, with widespread recognition of the recipient's excellence which may include teaching, directing, mentoring, writing, and speaking abilities, ideally to multiple levels of audiences, including medical students, residents and fellowships.

The Outstanding Educator Award recognizes individuals who are exemplary clinician educators who have made substantial national contributions at the medical student, resident and fellowship levels. National impact can include mentoring that has led to successful career development as a medical educator or scholarly publication.

Eligibility Criteria

The recipient of the national award WILL be:
  • A pulmonary, critical care or sleep clinician who spends a majority of his/her time serving as a clinician educator.
  • A clinician educator whose majority of time is spent in fellow-level education.
  • Recognized by fellows-in-training as an outstanding educator and by his/her peers as having made substantial contributions to the field of fellowship education. Nominations must reflect excellence in this area above all else.
  • A Program Director, Associate Program Director, or Key Clinical Faculty within an APCCMPD Member Fellowship Program.
  • Associate Professor or above (or equivalent).

A recipient WILL NOT be: 
  • A current member of the APCCMPD Board of Directors or within 4-years of serving as the Immediate-Past President. Individuals who serve as Secretary-Treasurer are eligible to apply after 1-year of serving as the Secretary-Treasurer.
  • A peer must nominate a potential awardee. Self-nominations will NOT be accepted.  

Key Dates

Submission Opens: August 1, 2018
Nomination Deadline: December 3, 2018

Nomination Acceptance: December 7, 2018
Letter of Support Deadline: January 7, 2019

Selection Process

Individuals wishing to nominate an outstanding educator should first obtain the approval of the prospective nominee.
  1. Nomination: The individual who wishes to nominate an outstanding educator should complete a Nomination Form. Within this form, the nominator will be asked to provide a brief description of the nominee’s impact as a clinician educator in pulmonary and critical care fellowship (December 3, 2018).
  2. Nomination Acceptance: APCCMPD staff will correspond with each nominee, and will be asked to complete a Nomination Acceptance Form. The Nomination Acceptance Form will require the following information for completion (December 7, 2018):
    1. List the names and email addresses of three individuals that have agreed to provide a Letter of Support for the nominee. The Letter of Support should describe how the nominee has demonstrated excellence as an educator of fellows-in-training within P/CCM Medicine.
    2. The nominee’s CV.
    3. A .JPG format, color photograph of the nominee (head and shoulders).
    4. Confirmation that, if selected, the awardee will attend the 2019 APCCMPD Annual Spring Conference.
  3. Letters of Support: The APCCMPD will correspond with the 3 individuals identified to provide a Letter of Support. Nominees will not be considered unless all material is submitted by January 7, 2019.
  4. Selection Process: The Award Selection Committee will review all nominees. The committee will develop a ranked slate of the top qualifiers, based on the eligibility criteria. The Award Selection Committee Chair will present the ranked slate of top qualifiers to the APCCMPD Board of Directors for voting.
  5. Awardee Recognition: All applicants will be honored by the APCCMPD in the 2019 Annual Awards Booklet. The APCCMPD will present the 2019 Outstanding Educator Award recipient with a plaque at the 2019 APCCMPD Annual Spring Conference. The APCCMPD will also recognize the 2019 Outstanding Educator in its quarterly newsletter and on its Website.
  6. Annual Conference Participation: At the 2019 APCCMPD Annual Spring Conference the awardee will be given the opportunity to present on a medical education topic of their choice. 

Submit a Nomination